Ziggin’ and a Zaggin’ – another WCC Championship

11 Mar

Gonzaga beat St. Mary’s 65-51 in the final of the West Coast Conference Tournament this evening in Las Vegas.

GonzagaThe Zags have now won the WCC Tournament 12 times dating back to 1995!

Let’s look back at this amazing run:

The first one – 1995 – #4-seed Gonzaga 80, #2 Portland 67

Gonzaga’s John Rillie drilled 20 of 28 threes to lead the Zags in the three tourney wins. Rillie scored 96 points in the three games.

They won four straight between 1999-2002 – Dan Dickau scored 27 points in the second half as the Zags beat #1-seed Pepperdine in the 2002 Final 96-90. In 1999 the Zags won by 21, 13 and 25 in the Final. Matt Santangelo was named MVP. Gonazaga reached the Elite 8 in 1999 – the only time.

MorrisonGonzaga won four more in a row – 2004-2007Adam Morrison went for 30 in the 2005 championship against St. Mary’s, Zags won 80-67 and beat the Gaels in the championship for the second straight year. In ’06 Gonzaga hosted the tourney and beat Loyola Marymount in the final 68-67 – Morrison led the nation at 28.1 points per game.

The #1 team in the country also won in 2009, beating who else, St. Mary’s 83-58; and 2011 it was St. Mary’s again by the score of 75-63 and now another win in 2013.

Next up! The NCAA Tournament!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: