WHL Championship begins – No T-birds once again

3 May

The Portland Winterhawks make their 10th appearance in the WHL Championship series when they play the Edmonton Oil Kings beginning tonight.

Here’s a look at WHL Championship series records by teams in the states:

Spokane 2-2 (27 seasons) – Won Championship in 1991 and 2008

Portland 2-7 (36 seasons) – Won Championship in 1982 and 1998

Seattle 0-1 (35 seasons) – Lost to Lethbridge in 1997

Everett 0-1 (9 seasons) – Lost to Medicine Hat in 2004 (first season!)

Tri-City 0-1 (24 seasons) – Lost to Calgary in 2010

The Edmonton Oil Kings are in the WHL Championship for the first time. This is their fifth year of existence, having never won a playoff series or game (0-8) prior to this year. Edmonton did have a franchise from 1967-1976. They played in four consecutive finals winning twice (1971-1972). The franchised moved to PORTLAND after the 1976 season.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: