Madness is here: Pac-12 tourney highlights

8 Mar


Quarterfinal action starts Thursday with UW playing Oregon State.

The Huskies are the two-time defending champions. The only other school to win consecutive Pac-10 tournament titles was Arizona. The Wildcats won four straight.

The 2012 tournament marks the 25-year anniversary of the inaugural tournament.

UCLA beat Washington in the final 76-64. More on that game Thursday.


Most consecutive tournament wins: Arizona 12, Washington 6 (current)

Most wins by a coach: Lute Olson 16-6, Lorenzo Romar 13-5.

The #1 seed has won three titles since 2002. They’ve lost 7 times including twice in the quarterfinal round.

UW is 6-2 in their first game of the tournament.

Most points by a Husky: Brandon Roy (30) in 2006.

Most rebounds by a Husky: Phil Zevenbergen and Chris Welp – 13 each in 1987.


Most points: Klay Thompson, WSU, 43 (2011)

Most 3-pointers: Klay Thompson, WSU, 8 (2011)

Most rebounds: Leon Powe, Cal, 20 (2006)

Pac-10 Tournament champions – Arizona 4, UCLA 3, Washington 3, Oregon 2, Stanford 1, USC 1, Oregon St. 0, Washington St. 0, Cal 0, Arizona St. 0.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: